Oregon e-bike and e-trike laws
Yes, an e-trike counts as an e-bike in Oregon if it has pedals, fits Class 1, 2 or 3, and every wheel is over 14 inches. No license, registration or insurance is needed, and adults need no helmet, but you must be 16 or older. Ride on roads, in bike lanes and on bike paths, never on sidewalks. State Parks trails that allow bikes also allow e-bikes unless signed.
- License
- No driver's license is needed. The license exemption covers only riders who meet the age limit (currently 16 for every class).
- Registration
- An e-bike is treated as a bicycle, not a motor vehicle, so it is not registered or titled (DMV: e-bikes are 'not eligible for an Oregon title').
- Insurance
- No insurance is required, because an e-bike is legally a bicycle and not a motor vehicle.
- Helmet
- Adults need no helmet. Helmets are required for anyone under 16 on a bicycle, including child passengers. Because riders must currently be 16+, in practice this covers child passengers now and 14–15-year-old Class 1 riders from 2027.
- Minimum age
- Until Dec 31, 2026 you must be 16 or older to ride any class. From Jan 1, 2027 the minimum is 14 for Class 1 and 16 for Class 2 and 3, and younger riders may use Class 1 or 2 while in an approved bicycle safety program.
- Where you can ride
- E-bikes follow bicycle rules and may use roads, bike lanes and bike paths.
- Sidewalks
- Riding an e-bike on a sidewalk is illegal statewide (a Class D traffic violation).
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
“Bicycle" means a vehicle that: ... (3) Is designed to travel with not more than three wheels in contact with the ground; ... (5) Has every wheel more than 14 inches in diameter”ORS 801.150; ORS 801.258(4) (an e-bike is 'a bicycle that is equipped with an electric motor and that is a Class 1 ..., Class 2 ... or Class 3' e-bike) ↗
The e-bike classes
How the trikes we list are treated in Oregon
136 of the 191 trikes we list fit Oregon's e-bike rules on their published figures. 11 need checking before you buy, and 44 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed, wheel size and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- CroSight T3 Classic 650WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 650W
- CroSight T3 Classic 750WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 750W
- CroSight T3 ProCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Pro
- Meet One Tour 2.0Check before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Meet One Tour 2.0
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W rated motor, over the 750W e-bike limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
Show the 136 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Freetan M-368X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Landtan M-300 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor SpytanX · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330F · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Emojo Bison Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Jr. · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ENVO Veemo SE · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Eskute T300 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Jasion JT18 eTrike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 17 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Meet One Breeze 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Pair (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- NARRAK N3 · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- NARRAK N6 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK N8 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK S180 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Fat Tire Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Puckipuppy Alaskan · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Rottweiler · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tiniover River Full Suspension · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 8 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Velotric Triker · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle
- Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 9 mph
- Viribus FC1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus FC2 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus ST1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- No driver's license is needed. The license exemption covers only riders who meet the age limit (currently 16 for every class). ORS 807.020(15) ↗
- Registration
- An e-bike is treated as a bicycle, not a motor vehicle, so it is not registered or titled (DMV: e-bikes are 'not eligible for an Oregon title'). ORS 814.405 ↗
- Insurance
- No insurance is required, because an e-bike is legally a bicycle and not a motor vehicle. ORS 814.405 ↗
- Helmet
- Adults need no helmet. Helmets are required for anyone under 16 on a bicycle, including child passengers. Because riders must currently be 16+, in practice this covers child passengers now and 14–15-year-old Class 1 riders from 2027. ORS 814.485, 814.486 (consolidated into 814.486 by HB 4007, operative 2027-01-01) ↗
- Minimum age
- Until Dec 31, 2026 you must be 16 or older to ride any class. From Jan 1, 2027 the minimum is 14 for Class 1 and 16 for Class 2 and 3, and younger riders may use Class 1 or 2 while in an approved bicycle safety program. ORS 807.020(15) (current); as amended by HB 4007 (2026), § 8, operative 2027-01-01 ↗
- Where you can ride
- E-bikes follow bicycle rules and may use roads, bike lanes and bike paths. ORS 814.405, 814.420; ODOT form 735-6619 ↗
- Sidewalks
- Riding an e-bike on a sidewalk is illegal statewide (a Class D traffic violation). ORS 814.410(1)(e) ↗
- State parks
- Since July 2025, Class 1–3 e-bikes are allowed on Oregon State Parks roads and on trails where bicycles are allowed, unless signed otherwise. They are allowed on ocean-shore wet sand, but not dry sand, dunes, or plover nesting areas from Mar 15 to Sep 15. Oregon Parks & Recreation Dept. rule update, OAR ch. 736 (effective July 2025) ↗
- Also good to know
- From Jan 1, 2027, it is a traffic violation to sell an 'impostor' e-bike (one outside the classes, or built to be switched or app-modified past its class). New e-bike batteries and chargers sold must carry an accredited lab certification mark. HB 4007 (2026) §§ 19–20, Or. Laws 2026 ch. 101 ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- HB 4103 (Or. Laws 2024, ch. 12) enacted · effective 2025-01-01 Adopted Class 1/2/3 definitions, dropped the 1,000 W cap, added a pedal requirement to the 'bicycle' definition, and set the no-license age at 16 for all classes. Source ↗
- OPRD e-bike rule (OAR ch. 736) enacted · effective 2025-07 (press release gives July 8, 2025; other reports July 1) Removed the 8-foot trail-width requirement, so e-bikes (Class 1–3) may ride any State Parks trail open to bikes unless posted. Some trails and parks are excluded. Source ↗
- HB 4007 (Or. Laws 2026, ch. 101) enacted · effective Act effective 91 days after 2026 sine die; e-bike provisions operative 2027-01-01 Lowers the Class 1 minimum age to 14 (Class 2/3 stay 16) and lets younger riders use Class 1 or 2 in a bicycle safety program. Unifies under-16 helmet rules, creates a 'powered micromobility device' category, bans selling impostor e-bikes, and requires certified batteries and chargers. Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (3)
- The exact OAR section numbers for the July 2025 State Parks e-bike rule (likely OAR 736-010 and 736-021) were not confirmed.
- The exact date HB 4007 as a whole took effect (91 days after the 2026 session adjourned, around early June 2026) and the Governor's signing date were not confirmed. The e-bike provisions are explicitly operative 2027-01-01 (§ 33).
- Whether a 750 W+ e-bike that stays within the 20/28 mph class limits is legal. The current ORS 801.258 has no wattage cap, so it appears legal, but no DMV guidance addresses it directly.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.