Colorado e-bike and e-trike laws
Yes. Colorado's e-bike law expressly covers vehicles with two or three wheels, so a pedal e-trike with a motor of 750 watts or less needs no license, registration or insurance. Ride it on roads and bike lanes, and on Class 1 or 2 bike paths unless the city or county bans e-bikes there. Adults do not need a helmet under state law.
- License
- No driver's license, registration or insurance is needed; e-bikes are excluded from the definition of motor vehicle.
- Helmet
- Riders and passengers under 18 on a Class 3 must wear a properly fastened bicycle helmet; no state helmet requirement for Class 1/2 or adults. (Class 3)
- Minimum age
- You must be at least 16 to ride a Class 3 on streets or paths (younger riders may be passengers on one built for passengers); no state minimum age for Class 1/2. (Class 3)
- Where you can ride
- E-bike riders have the same rights and duties as other drivers on roads, and within cities and towns they are subject to local ordinances.
- Sidewalks
- No statewide ban; you may not ride on a sidewalk where signs or local ordinances prohibit it, and you must yield to pedestrians and give an audible signal before passing.
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
“Electrical assisted bicycle" means a vehicle having two or three wheels, fully operable pedals, and an electric motor not exceeding seven hundred fifty watts of power.”C.R.S. § 42-1-102(28.5)(a) (as amended by HB25-1197) ↗
The e-bike classes
How the trikes we list are treated in Colorado
136 of the 191 trikes we list fit Colorado's e-bike rules on their published figures. 11 need checking before you buy, and 44 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- CroSight T3 Classic 650WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 650W
- CroSight T3 Classic 750WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 750W
- CroSight T3 ProCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Pro
- Meet One Tour 2.0Check before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Meet One Tour 2.0
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
Show the 136 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Freetan M-368X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Landtan M-300 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor SpytanX · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330F · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Emojo Bison Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Jr. · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ENVO Veemo SE · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Eskute T300 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Jasion JT18 eTrike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 17 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Meet One Breeze 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Pair (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- NARRAK N3 · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- NARRAK N6 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK N8 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK S180 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Fat Tire Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Puckipuppy Alaskan · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Rottweiler · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tiniover River Full Suspension · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 8 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Velotric Triker · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle
- Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 9 mph
- Viribus FC1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus FC2 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus ST1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- No driver's license, registration or insurance is needed; e-bikes are excluded from the definition of motor vehicle. C.R.S. § 42-1-102(58)(a) ↗
- Helmet
- Class 3 Riders and passengers under 18 on a Class 3 must wear a properly fastened bicycle helmet; no state helmet requirement for Class 1/2 or adults. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(15)(b) ↗
- Minimum age
- Class 3 You must be at least 16 to ride a Class 3 on streets or paths (younger riders may be passengers on one built for passengers); no state minimum age for Class 1/2. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(15)(a) ↗
- Where you can ride
- E-bike riders have the same rights and duties as other drivers on roads, and within cities and towns they are subject to local ordinances. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(1) ↗
- Sidewalks
- No statewide ban; you may not ride on a sidewalk where signs or local ordinances prohibit it, and you must yield to pedestrians and give an audible signal before passing. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(10) ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- Class 1 Class 1 and 2 e-bikes may use bike and pedestrian paths where bicycles are allowed, but a local authority may ban them on its paths. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(14)(a) ↗
- Class 3 Class 3 e-bikes may not use bike or pedestrian paths unless the path is within a street or highway or the local authority allows them. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(14)(b) ↗
- Passengers
- Do not carry more people than the e-bike or e-trike is designed or equipped for. C.R.S. § 42-4-1412(3) ↗
- Labels
- E-bikes must carry a class label; from Jan 1, 2027, multiple-mode e-bikes must also show the highest class or each class they can operate in. Sellers must not label or advertise non-qualifying vehicles as e-bikes without a written 'not an electrical assisted bicycle' disclosure, and e-bike batteries must be certified by an accredited lab. C.R.S. § 42-4-221(9)(c), (10)(d), (12)-(14) (HB25-1197) ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- HB25-1197 enacted · effective 2025-08-06 (90 days after 2025 adjournment; multiple-mode labels 2027-01-01) Signed May 28, 2025. Says a bike modified out of the classes, or designed to be easily switched out of them, is not an e-bike. Defines 'multiple mode' e-bikes, requires sellers to make disclosures, makes it a deceptive trade practice to falsely label or advertise non-e-bikes as e-bikes, requires certified lithium-ion batteries, and requires multiple-mode labels from Jan 1, 2027. The 'two or three wheels' wording was kept. Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (4)
- Colorado Parks and Wildlife e-bike rules in state parks (generally reported as Class 1/2 allowed where bikes are allowed, Class 3 limited) were not confirmed; the CPW e-bike page URLs tried returned 404.
- The effective date of 2025-08-06 is calculated from the bill's 90-day petition clause (2025 session adjourned May 7, 2025) and was not read from an official effective-date notice.
- Whether low-power scooters need liability insurance was not confirmed.
- HB26-1237 (enacted 2026) bars stopping or parking in bike lanes; not reviewed in detail.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.