Hawaii e-bike and e-trike laws
Yes, you can ride an electric trike in Hawaii as long as its motor is 750 watts or less; the law counts a pedal trike with two front or two rear wheels as a bicycle. You must register it with your county once ($30), but you need no driver's license or insurance, and riders under 18 must wear a helmet. Ride on roads and in bike lanes; sidewalks are allowed at 10 mph or less, except in business districts or where your county bans it.
- License
- No driver's license is needed for an electric bicycle; it is legally a 'bicycle', and Hawaii's 'motor vehicle' licensing rules do not list bicycles.
- Registration
- Every electric bicycle must be registered with your county (one-time $30 fee), and since July 15, 2026 you may not ride an unregistered one on a road, sidewalk or bike facility; police can cite or temporarily impound it.
- Insurance
- No insurance is required to ride a legal, classified electric bicycle.
- Helmet
- Riders under 18 must wear a fastened bicycle helmet on any bicycle, including an e-bike (raised from under 16 by Act 259); adults 18+ are not required to by state law.
- Minimum age
- Riders under 16 may operate a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike only under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian (Act 259 replaced the old flat ban on anyone under 15); there is no state minimum age for Class 1. (Class 2)
- Where you can ride
- E-bikes are bicycles, so you may ride on roads with the same rights and duties as other bicycle riders, and must use a usable bike lane when going slower than traffic.
- Sidewalks
- Since July 15, 2026 any class of e-bike may be ridden on a sidewalk at 10 mph or less, yielding to pedestrians, but never in business districts or where a county ordinance bans it (before Act 259, motorized bicycles were banned from all sidewalks).
Does an e-trike count as an e-bike?
“Bicycle" means: (1) A vehicle propelled solely by human power ... including any vehicle generally recognized as a bicycle though equipped with two front or two rear wheels ...; or (2) An electric bicycle.”HRS § 291C-1 ('bicycle', 'electric bicycle') as amended by Act 259 (2026) §9; before 7/15/2026 via 15 U.S.C. § 2085 ('a two- or three-wheeled vehicle') ↗
The e-bike classes
How the trikes we list are treated in Hawaii
136 of the 191 trikes we list fit Hawaii's e-bike rules on their published figures. 11 need checking before you buy, and 44 don't publish enough to tell. We check motor power, top speed and the stated class. Not legal advice.
- Addmotor Grandtan TurboCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Addmotor Grandtan Turbo
- Aipas A8 Max Trekker EtrikeCheck before buying1300W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Aipas A8 Max Trekker Etrike
- CroSight T3 Classic 650WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 650W
- CroSight T3 Classic 750WCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Classic 750W
- CroSight T3 ProCheck before buying22 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: CroSight T3 Pro
- Meet One Tour 2.0Check before buying25 mph top speed, over the 20 mph Class 1–2 limit.Model page: Meet One Tour 2.0
- Rungu Dualie RuggedCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Rugged
- Rungu Dualie StandardCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Standard
- Rungu Dualie SteepCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Rungu Dualie Steep
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000WCheck before buying1000W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Family Cargo ETrike 1000W
- Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning ElectricCheck before buying800W motor is over the 750W limit.Model page: Worksman PAV3 Stretch Lightning Electric
Show the 136 that fit the rules
- Actbest Triker · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Actbest Triker Plus · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Arisetan II M-360 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 500W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytan M-315 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Citytri E-310 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor E-325 Family Cargo Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Freetan M-368X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Freetri E-361 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan M-340 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Grandtan X · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Greattan L Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Landtan M-300 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Dual battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor M-380 Tandem Single battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor Soletri II M-366X Herotri II M-365X (high-step) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Addmotor SpytanX · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330 Mini · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor Triketan M-330F · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-710 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Addmotor U-Trike U-750 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The K9 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Original 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Bunch Bikes The Preschool 4+ · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Buzz Cerana T2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Catrike 5.5.9 eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike All Road eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Dumont eCAT · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Catrike Expedition eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike MAX eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Pocket eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Trail eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Catrike Villager eCAT · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Christiania Classic Straight Cargo Trike (Mid Drive) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Christiania Model T Taxi & Trishaw Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Emojo Bison Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Bull · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Bull Trail Urban Cruiser Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Caddy Pro · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Dual Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Jr. · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Emojo Dexter Single Battery · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- ENVO Veemo SE · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Eskute T300 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Max · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 18 mph
- Eskute T300 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 16 mph
- Eunorau NEW-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Eunorau T1 Recumbent Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 20 mph
- Evelo Compass · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- HP Velotechnik Scorpion fs 26 S-Pedelec · Class 3 e-bike, 28 mph
- ICE Adventure (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- ICE Full Fat (E-Assist) · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Jasion JT18 eTrike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 500W (base) · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Lectric XP Trike2 750 Long-Range · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle, 17 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 16" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12 mph
- Liberty Trike Freedom 20" · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Meet One Breeze 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Dual 20Ah + 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Breeze Pro 2.0 Single 20Ah · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Pair (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Meet One Tour Lite 2.0 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mokwheel Granite · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Mooncool FT1 Fat Tire Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Mooncool TK2 Pro · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Nakto S03 · E-bike (class not stated), 12 mph
- NARRAK N3 · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- NARRAK N6 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK N8 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- NARRAK S180 · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Pedego Fat Tire Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Pedego Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Puckipuppy Alaskan · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Husky Plus · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Puckipuppy Rottweiler · E-bike (class not stated), 15 mph
- Retrospec Boca Rev 2 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 14 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Electric Trike Tandem 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Recumbent Rickshaw 750W · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 1000W mid-drive · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw 750W (2026, hitch) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Rickshaw Dual 750W, dual battery (42Ah) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Sixthreezero EVRYjourney Trike · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Fat Tire Reverse E Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sixthreezero Relaxed Body 750W Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Fat Tire 750W Recumbent E Trike w/ Footrest · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Glide Laid Back 750W Recumbent ETrike · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Sixthreezero Simple Step Thru Fat Tire Electric Trike · E-bike (class not stated), 16 mph
- Sun Bicycles E350-B1 Electric Trike · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 10 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Delta B1 SX Electric Delta · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- Sun Seeker E-Eco Tad B1 SX Electric Tadpole · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15 mph
- TerraTrike All Terrain e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Gran Tourismo e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike GTS e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rambler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rebel e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rogue e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Rover Tandem e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Spyder e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- TerraTrike Tandem Pro Charge · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- TerraTrike Traveler e+ · Class 1 e-bike, pedal-assist only, 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tiniover Creek Pro (Passenger) · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tiniover River Full Suspension · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) E-Trike Li 24in · E-bike (class not stated), 20 mph
- Tri-Rider (Belize) Elek-Trike 24in · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 8 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Rider Compact+ · E-bike (class not stated), 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Easy Sport · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Van Raam Maxi · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Velotric Triker · Class 1 or 2 e-bike, throttle
- Viribus 16 inch Folding Electric Tricycle · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 9 mph
- Viribus FC1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus FC2 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus ST1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 20 mph
- Viribus TG1 250W · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 12.4 mph
- Viribus TG1 350W upgrade · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Folding · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- Viribus TG1 Plus · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 15.5 mph
- VIVI T01 · Class 2 e-bike, throttle, 15.5 mph
- Worksman E-PALR-3CB Personal Activity Low Rider · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Mover E-M2020-3CB Lightning · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman PAV3-3CB Lightning Electric · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
- Worksman Side-by-Side Electric Lightning SBST-3CB-HB · E-bike (class not stated), throttle, 10 mph
Every rule, with its source
- License
- No driver's license is needed for an electric bicycle; it is legally a 'bicycle', and Hawaii's 'motor vehicle' licensing rules do not list bicycles. HRS § 291C-1 as amended by Act 259 (2026); HRS § 286-102 ↗
- Registration
- Every electric bicycle must be registered with your county (one-time $30 fee), and since July 15, 2026 you may not ride an unregistered one on a road, sidewalk or bike facility; police can cite or temporarily impound it. HRS § 249-14(b) as amended by Act 259 (2026) §5 ↗
- Insurance
- No insurance is required to ride a legal, classified electric bicycle. new HRS § 291C- (Electric bicycles; insurance exemption), Act 259 (2026) §1 ↗
- Helmet
- Riders under 18 must wear a fastened bicycle helmet on any bicycle, including an e-bike (raised from under 16 by Act 259); adults 18+ are not required to by state law. HRS § 291C-150(a) as amended by Act 259 (2026) §14 ↗
- Minimum age
- Class 2 Riders under 16 may operate a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike only under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian (Act 259 replaced the old flat ban on anyone under 15); there is no state minimum age for Class 1. HRS § 291C-143.5 as amended by Act 259 (2026) §12 ↗
- Class 3 Same rule as Class 2: under 16 only with a parent, guardian or adult (18+) physically present and able to observe and control the ride. HRS § 291C-143.5(b) as amended by Act 259 (2026) §12 ↗
- Where you can ride
- E-bikes are bicycles, so you may ride on roads with the same rights and duties as other bicycle riders, and must use a usable bike lane when going slower than traffic. HRS §§ 291C-142, 291C-145(c) ↗
- Sidewalks
- Since July 15, 2026 any class of e-bike may be ridden on a sidewalk at 10 mph or less, yielding to pedestrians, but never in business districts or where a county ordinance bans it (before Act 259, motorized bicycles were banned from all sidewalks). HRS § 291C-145(g) as amended by Act 259 (2026) §13 ↗
- Bike paths and trails
- Bicycles (including e-bikes) may use bike lanes and bike paths, but counties may post specific bike lanes and paths to keep out bicycles equipped with a motor. HRS §§ 291C-123(a), 291C-145(g) ↗
- Passengers
- You may carry only as many people as the e-bike or trike is designed and equipped for. HRS § 291C-143(b) ↗
- Labels
- Makers and distributors must permanently label each e-bike with its class, top assisted speed and motor wattage, and sellers must disclose in writing whether it is street-legal plus registration, equipment, helmet and age rules (takes effect 120 days after July 15, 2026, or sooner if DOT adopts rules). new HRS § 291C- (Electric bicycle regulations; labels), Act 259 (2026) §§2, 22 ↗
- Also good to know
- Ride seated, facing forward, with all wheels on the ground; wheelies, stunts, standing on the seat and other reckless riding are prohibited. new HRS § 291C- (Safe riding behavior; electric bicycles), Act 259 (2026) §1 ↗
- At night you need a white front lamp visible 500 ft, a red rear reflector, and side reflectors or lights; brakes must stop you within 25 ft from 10 mph. HRS § 291C-147 ↗
- Act 259 states that nothing in it prohibits the use of mobility devices as defined in the Americans with Disabilities Act. Act 259 (2026) §17 ↗
What's new, and what cities add
- HB 2021 HD2 SD2 CD1 (Act 259, SLH 2026) enacted · effective 2026-07-15 (signed and effective on approval); labeling/signage section 120 days later (about 2026-11-12) or earlier upon DOT rules Creates a state e-bike definition (pedals, motor no more than 750 W) with Class 1/2/3 (Class 3 needs a speedometer); creates 'high-speed electric device' (over 750 W and over 28 mph), banned from public roads, lanes, paths and sidewalks; under-16 riders may use Class 2/3 only under direct supervision; helmet age raised to under 18 for all bicycles; all classes allowed on sidewalks at 10 mph or less except business districts or where counties ban it; registration now expressly required before riding, with citation/impound; no insurance required; seizure of non-road-legal e-bikes; safe-riding (no wheelies/stunts) rule; mopeds and electric motorcycles banned from bike lanes/paths; labeling and point-of-sale disclosure rules. Source ↗
- All counties (Honolulu, Hawaii, Maui, Kauai): Counties handle e-bike registration ($30 one-time) and may ban e-bikes from specific sidewalks, bike lanes and bike paths by ordinance and posted signs. Source ↗
What we couldn't confirm from official sources (4)
- Whether mopeds in Hawaii require liability insurance (not verified; moped is excluded from 'motor vehicle' in HRS 291C-1/249-1).
- DLNR state park and Na Ala Hele trail rules for e-bikes were not checked; assume e-bikes are allowed only where posted and check with DLNR.
- Whether an over-750 W e-bike that cannot exceed 28 mph can actually be registered as a moped (it would need to meet moped equipment/FMVSS rules); not verified.
- Specific county ordinances (e.g., Honolulu ROH) restricting e-bikes on sidewalks or paths after Act 259 were not verified.
This page explains the law in plain language. It is not legal advice. Cities, counties and park agencies can add their own rules; check posted signs and confirm with your state before you ride.